Cybersecurity & Data Privacy

Cybersecurity & Data Privacy Specialization

Protecting data and our information systems is of crucial importance to every employer, whether a private company or a public agency.  Loyola's Master of Science in Legal Studies (MLS) with a specialization in Cybersecurity & Data Privacy Law, will immerse you in the relevant law and teach you the tools and skills to comply with legal requirements to protect information and data, making you an asset to current or future employer.

The MLS program can be completed in two years the course of two years, part-time. Loyola offers evening courses as well as traditional day courses to provide greater flexibility for your schedule and lifestyle.

Required Courses

  • Criminal Law (4 units)
  • Cyber & Intellectual Property Crimes (2 units)
  • Cyber Risk Management & Incident Response (2 unit
  • Cybersecurity & Regulatory Compliance (2 units)
  • Internet Law (2 units)
  • Legal Methods I (2 units)
  • Legal Methods II (2 units)
  • Technology & Privacy (3 units)

Specialization Requirements

The Cybersecurity & Data Privacy Specialization will be recognized upon the satisfactory completion of 18 units of coursework in addition to the first-year course in Criminal Law and Legal Methods I and II.  This includes 11 units of required courses and 7 units of electives.   

Elective Courses