2022 - 2023 Heumann-Armstrong Award Winners

2023 - 2023 Heumann-Armstrong Award Winners

The Coelho Center for Disability Law, Policy, and Innovation and Equal Opportunities for Students are excited to honor the winners of the 2022-2023 Heumann-Armstrong Award. Awardees are students who have experienced ableism in education and advocated for themselves and others. 

This year’s winners are:

  • Dylan McGlone
  • Ava Wright
  • Sarit Cahana
  • Sueli Gwiazdowski
  • Lauren Proby
  • Alexandra “Zandy” Wong

All six of the winners will receive $1,000, and will be interviewed by Elijah Armstrong.  Their interviews will be illustrated by Access Gallery and available via Youtube.

International disability rights activist Judy Heumann said of the winners, “I am so proud of the wonderful work these Fellows are doing to advance the rights of disabled students."

We would also like to acknowledge the twelve semi-finalists who were selected, and will each receive a $100 gift card.

  • Bianca Aguilar
  • Sarika Chawla
  • Tiffany-Ashton Gatsby
  • Kaitlin Anzalone
  • Leah Reinardy
  • Caitlin Cafiero
  • Moira Armstrong
  • Athena Swiader
  • Keira Thompson
  • Deanna Parvin Yadollahi
  • Leslie Zukor

“We had a lot of great applicants and selecting our final six was a hard task, but I’m excited with the finalists we’ve selected, and I can’t wait to work with them this year!” said Elijah Armstrong, founder of Equal Opportunities for Students.