Loyola Marymount University

The Coelho Center

for Disability Law, Policy and Innovation at Loyola Law School

The Coelho Law Fellowship Program

The law fellowship was designed to increase the pipeline of disabled law students to go on to sit on the bar and bench.

The Heumman-Armstrong Awards

The Heumman-Armstrong Awards are awarded annually to student leaders (grades K through higher education) across the nation in honor of Judy Heumann and Elijah Armstrong.

Tony Coelho & Joe Biden

Learn More About Our Founder

The Honorable Anthony "Tony" Coelho, former congressman and original sponsor of the Americans with Disabilities Act, has spent his life in service to our community.

Our Mission and Guiding Principles

The Coelho Center launched in November 2018 with a mission to collaborate with the community to develop leadership and advocate innovative approaches for change.

Policy and Advocacy Efforts

Through our policy and advocacy efforts we seek innovative approaches to advance the lives of people with disabilities and to provide resources to our community.

Conferences, Roundtables and Events

The Coelho Center organizes conferences and events on issues important to our community. Learn more and find out how to collaborate with and join us.

Research, Intern and Fellow Opportunities

LMU undergrads and LLS students help the Coelho Center thrive through assistantships and internships. Law school graduates across the nation are welcome to develop fellowship proposals to work with us.

Immigration and Disability Conference

Convening leaders from across the nation to build partnerships and strategy for advocacy, law, policy, service delivery and the future of our movements.  

Founded by former Democratic congressman, disability rights icon and LMU alumnus Hon. Tony Coelho (LMU ’64), The Coelho Center for Disability Law, Policy & Innovation brings together all of the schools and colleges within Loyola Marymount University and is housed at Loyola Law School.



Coelho Family
Esquire Bank
L and D Longo Family Foundation
Don Bennett Moon Foundation Inc.
Natasha and Shawn Sedaghat
Service Corporation International


The California Endowment
Peter J. Gallo Memorial Foundation
Selig Zises

Chairman's Circle

Emile Haddad
Jeanne and Edward Kashian
Tom Nides

Advocate's Circle

BankUnited, N.A.
Robert J. Bettencourt
Davante Corp, LLC: Craig and Dianna Davis
Morgan Levin Dolan
Suzanne and Samuel Eisenstat
Azita and George Fatheree, III
Frank Fischer
Bryn and Phillip Forhan
Jim S. Frank
The Friedkin Group
Renee and Mark Garett
GF Enterprises, LLC
Marc Grossman
Gulf States Toyota, Inc.
John C. Harris
Nathalie and David Herbst

Kids Connect Charitable Fund
The Kotler Family Foundation Inc.
Michael G. Lacey
Margaret and James Larkin
Jared T. Levine
Merit Service Solutions
MGM Resorts International
Thea and Robert Mitzman
Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
Nationwide TFS, LLC
Victoria and David Plekenpol
The Robert W. Smith Family Charitable Gift Fund
Janni Lehrer-Stein and Leonard Stein
Uber Technologies Inc.
Vectis Strategies

Friend's Circle

Action Wine & Spirits USA, LLC
Ashish Ahlowalia
American Network of Community Options and Resources
Anthony and Jeanne Pritzker Family Foundation
John R. Areias
Eric Bader
Mona and Mark Burrell
Weny Cama
Ron Carner
Cigna Health and Life Insurance Company
Sean Coonerty and Andrew Siegel
Hon. James M. Costa
Dominich D'Alleva
Cullen and Dykman LLP
Todd A. Deutsch
David Dreyer
Duffy & Duffy, PLLC
Edison International

John B. Emerson
Empire National Bank
Steven Gackenbach
Luse Gorman
Victoria L. Graf
Winston Hickox
V. Janet Hill
Intercontinental Exchange, Inc.
Illinois Association of Rehabilitation Facilities
Kevin T. Kane
Kevin Keane
Thomas B. Kinsock
Frank Kolb
Martin Korn
Steven Krauser
The Laurel Hill Advisory Group LLC
Andrew Levine
Frank Lonardo
Rone Luczynski
Mel-Delin Dairy

Sean Miller
Munger Tolles & Olson LLP Foundation
Carolyn Osolinik and Edward Correia
Prudential Financial, Inc.
Leslie Freed Petersil
Mary Ann and Richard Powers
RB International
Kevin Rew
Andrew Sagliocca
Claire Sagliocca
Pamela C. Sellers
Lawrence W. Shields
Ahmad Sulaiman
Jack Thompson
Kristin and Sumner Waring, III
Angela and Kevin Waterhouse
Michael R. Webb
William H. Hannon Foundation
Wine Institute