Loyola to participate in law school pipeline program

Loyola Law School, Los Angeles is one of six California law schools to sign on to the Community Colleges Pathway to Law School initiative, an unprecedented effort within public higher education to enhance opportunities and advancement in the legal profession for diverse populations, particularly those who have been underrepresented. The program was announced by the California Community Colleges and the State Bar of California.                                

The project, sponsored by the State Bar’s Council on Access and Fairness, will establish agreements with two dozen community colleges and six top law schools and their respective undergraduate institutions. Students in the program will receive assurances that credits in prescribed courses will transfer, early exposure to the law school experience, individual advisement and mentoring from law school advisors, financial aid counseling, LSAT preparation and waived application fees for admission to the participating law schools. 

“Loyola Law School’s mission includes a commitment to diversity, and we view this program as an important way to continue to foster diversity on campus,” said Victor Gold, dean of Loyola Law School. “We are happy to participate in a program that makes the pathway to legal education more accessible.”

Other participating law schools are the Santa Clara University School of Law, University of San Francisco School of Law, UC Davis School of Law, University of Southern California Gould School of Law and UC Irvine School of Law. 

The Community Colleges Pathway to Law School Initiative requires students to complete courses based on a defined set of “success factors” that help make effective lawyers. The transfer initiative will align criteria from these success factors with community college courses already approved in corresponding Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC) to prepare students for law school.

Community colleges selected for the program are Antelope Valley College, Bakersfield College, Chabot College, Chaffey College, College of Alameda, College of the Canyons, College of the Sequoias, Contra Costa College, Fresno City College, Gavilan College, Hartnell College, Los Angeles City College, Los Angeles Mission College, Merritt College, Oxnard College, Rio Hondo Community College, Riverside City College, Sacramento City College, San Joaquin Delta College, San Jose City College, Santa Ana College,  Solano Community College, Southwestern College, and Ventura College.