LLS | 2003 National Civil Trial Competition

2003 National Civil Trial Competition

Greene, Broillet & Wheeler, LLP

Loyola Law School Los Angeles

Congratulations to the University of Denver College of Law!

The University of Denver College of Law was named champion of Loyola Law School’s second annual National Civil Trial Competition at an awards banquet held Saturday, November 15, 2003 at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles.

The winning team included Brian Domingues, Liz Elliot, Reggy Short and Ben Winters. They were awarded a permanent trophy for their school, as well as a traveling trophy which will be passed on to future champions. By a unanimous vote, Ben Winters, from the University of Denver, was named Best Advocate/Final Rounds; and Reggy Short, also from the University of Denver, was named Best Advocate/Preliminary Rounds.

The elimination rounds took place at the U.S. District Courthouse in Los Angeles, with Campbell University School of Law, State University of New York (SUNY) at Buffalo, Syracuse University College of Law and University of Denver of College of Law all qualifying for the semi-finals. The final round found Syracuse teaming up against Denver, and was argued at Loyola’s Albert H. Girardi Advocacy Center. Syracuse received the Finalist trophy, and Semi-Finalist trophies were awarded to SUNY at Buffalo and Campbell University School of Law.

More than 120 trial lawyers participated as tournament judges, including many Loyola Law School alumni and partners from some of Los Angeles’ top litigation firms. Judges for the final round included: Tom Girardi, Robert Shapiro, Tim Wheeler, Bernard LeSage, Suzanne Tracy and Michael Avenatti, as well as United States Magistrate Judge, Patrick Walsh.