Dean's Message

Pride for Alumni Who Inspire
the Loyola Community

A Message from Dean Victor Gold:

In my June message, I invited you to nominate Loyola alumni who inspire you as part of our celebration for 50 Years at Albany. You responded with moving stories of accomplishment and courage. From your nominations the Alumni Board of Governors and others in your alumni community selected the following remarkable 50 Loyola.

The list is a “who’s who” of the most accomplished lawyers, public servants, and business men and women. Loyola is proud of their achievements, personal integrity and passion for justice.

Some of them are no longer with us, but their spirit lives on in the superb students who currently are earning their Loyola degrees. Many of the alumni on the list will be in attendance at the 50th Anniversary Celebration on Saturday, September 20. Please join me in supporting this impressive group as we honor them at the Grand Reunion.

50 Inspirational Alumni


*Anne G. O'Keefe ’24 
*H. Claude Hudson ’31 
*Elmer Shokauku Yamamoto ’32
*Hon. Otto M. Kaus ’49 
*John E. Anderson, Sr. ’50 
*Lloyd Tevis ’50 
*Leonard Cohen ’51 
Hon. Victor Chavez ’59 
William G. Coskran '59 
*John J. Collins ’61 
Mary V. Orozco ’61 
*Johnnie L. Cochran, Jr. ’62 
Thomas V. Girardi ’64 
Hon. Frederick J. Lower, Jr. '64 
Patricia D. Phillips ’67 
Stephen F. Page ’68 
Robert L. Shapiro ’68 
Larry R. Feldman ’69 
Hon. Kathryn Doi Todd ’70 
Hon. Sheila P. Sonenshine ’70 
Robert C. Baker ’71 
Hon. Benjamin J. Cayetano ’71 
Hon. Robert J. Miller ’71 
Shirley A. Henderson ’72 
Mark P. Robinson ’72 
Gloria Allred ’74 
*Melanie E. Lomax ’74 
Roman M. Silberfeld ’74 
Walter F. Ulloa ’74 
Thomas J. Nolan ’75 
Alfred Jenkins ’76 
Thomas P. Beck ’77 
Pamela S. Duffy ’78 
Gary E. Knell ’78 
Hon. John V. Meigs ’78 
Ralph D. Black ’80 
Nicholas P. Saggese ’80 
Mark J. Geragos ’82 
Patrick C. Haden ’82 
*Jenine Meltzer ’82 
David W. Burcham ’84 
Hon. Carol D. Codrington ’84 
Lloyd Greif ’84
Liam E. McGee ’84 
Stuart A. Liner ’87 
Sean K. Kennedy ’89 
Brian S. Kabateck ’89
Gregory Townsend '96
Olegario D. Cantos VII '97
Carmen M. Chavez '99 


You probably recognize many of these names because Loyola alumni are often cited in the media. This weekend is your opportunity to hear from two of them: Thomas V. Girardi ’64, Chair of the 50th Anniversary Weekend Celebration, dedicates an hour of his popular “Champions of Justice” syndicated radio show to an exploration of Loyola’s impact on its students and the community over the last 50 years. Joining Tom will be co-host Amy Solomon ’87 and guests Sean Kennedy ’89 and Stacey Nelson ’14. 

The show will air in Los Angeles on:
Saturday, Sept. 13
3pm on KABC-790 AM
5 pm on KRLA-870 AM

Sunday, Sept. 14
5 pm on KFWB-980 AM
8 pm on KRLA-870 AM

Click here for additional air times in San Diego, Sacramento and San Francisco.

We take great pride in all of you who bring distinction and honor to Loyola. I look forward to seeing you in a week at the Grand Reunion.

Dean Victor Gold

Copyright 2014 © Loyola Law School, Los Angeles
919 Albany Street, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1211


If you no longer want to receive emails from us, please click on the link: Opt-Out
Reunion Weekend


SEPT.19, 2014

Loyola Service & Happy Hour at YMCA Stair Climb

SEPT. 20, 2014

Alumni Grand Reunion
& Class Reunions

SEPT. 21, 2014

Family Day
Top Tier Sponsor graphic

Girardi I Keese


Law Office of Felipe Plascencia

Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi L.L.P.

Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP



Engstrom, Lipscomb & Lack

William H. Hannon Foundation

Minyard Morris

Panish, Shea & Boyle, LLP

Robinson Calcagnie Robinson Shapiro Davis, Inc.

Daily Journal